Sultry Brownie Look (1028 Visual Therapy Brand Review)

1028 Complete look 2

I LOVE to bake. I love everything about it: the mixing, the scooping, the whisking… I love it all (except the washing up, of course). I’m an avid baker of brownies because they’re easy to make and taste absolutely divine: chewy, melty and chocolatey with every bite (here’s the recipe I always go back to, in case you were wondering). So when the opportunity came up to create a look inspired by brownies came up, I knew I definitely had to jump onto that bandwagon ASAP!

1028 Visual Therapy is a beauty company from Taiwan that was created on October 28, 2008, hence the name in numbers. This company makes products that are especially suited for Asian skins and puts a heavy emphasis on the word “therapy” as their products are made with healthy ingredients that leave the skin feeling as good as it looks.

1028 taiwan site

They have their own Taiwanese site that you can browse through for their full range of cosmetics, but if you’re Malaysian and are looking for something you can touch and feel, you can check out Watsons Malaysia to see what we have on our shores.

Alright, now onto the products!

1028 CC moisture infusion essence cream

How cute is this Moisture Infusion CC Essence Cream? This one from 1028 is great for days when you don’t want to wear anything too heavy but also don’t want to compromise on coverage. It also comes with an SPF of 30 and PA ++ to protect you from the sun. I got mine in shade 2, and upon application, this product gave me a healthy, slightly tanned glow. However, after an hour, I noticed that it oxidized and this shade was clearly too dark for me. If you’re looking to try this out for yourself, be sure to get a shade lighter than your skin tone for best results. The texture of this CC cream is great: it applied on smoothly onto the skin and gave me an almost poreless finish, which I really liked. I’ll definitely be using this in the future, but probably mixed with something a little lighter for a better colour match.

1028 Eyeliner

Next up is the Ultimate Superblack Eyeliner. I’m a sucker for a good eyeliner, so I had high expectations for this. This one comes with a felt tip and dispenses a seriously black formula. The tip is a little bigger and denser than most, so it’d be best for people who are used to using eyeliner pens. It’s still great for using everyday, and I got a full day of wear with this with only minimal smudging. Really dig this one!

1028 Big Magnifier Mascara

The Big Magnifier Mascara is actually one of 1028’s star products. This mascara claims to lengthen, volumize and open up the eyes. I really liked the tapered shape of the wand combined with its super black formula as this allowed me to really coat each and every lash, even the tiny ones! It was great for both my top and bottom lash line, and it definitely did lengthen my lashes for a bright-eyed look.

1028 longwear eyebrow definer

The Longwear Eyebrow Definer in Brown was a treat for me: I love it when companies put in a spoolie together with a brow pencil to blend out any harsh edges as this means I don’t have to hunt for a separate one. The pencil tip had a tapered shape that allowed for smaller, more defined strokes as well as a bigger end that gave you the freedom to cover bigger spaces too. The formula itself is quite dense, so it pays to have a little patience with this product. But overall, I thought this was a great eyebrow pencil, especially for people who are always on the move.

1028 Ultimate Oil control Powder

This petite cutie is the Ultimate Oil Control Powder. Translucent in colour, this product contains rice flour that’s great for keeping your makeup from sliding all over the place. Upon application, this powder gave my skin a seriously smooth finish; it seemed to almost make my pores and imperfections disappear. I was able to get a good 4 hours of wear time before I started getting oily, and since the compact size was perfect for carrying around, touch-ups were a breeze too.

1028 Brownie Palette

Now for the pièce de résistance of this collection: the Brownie Eyes Eyeshadow Palette. This gorgeous mix of brown shades are perfect for everyday wear, be it for something simple during the work day or smoked out to the nines for the night. The eyeshadows are buttery and pigmented, however they are ever so slightly chalky and can give quite a bit of fallout. Just be sure to tap off the excess powder after dipping your brush into it and you’ll be fine.

1028 Brownie Palette swatches

Doesn’t that just scream to the neutral goddess within you? Mind you, these are swatches without primer, and I think they look great considering that fact. The lighter shades don’t really show up because they’re very close to my pale-ass skintone, but they were perfect for highighting the browbone and inner corners.

Okay, enough talk! Are you ready to see the look I came up with using these beauties from 1028?

1028 Complete look 1

I wanted a mix of sultriness and freshness in this look, so I paired warm smokey eyes with glowy, freckled cheeks and finished it off with a glossy burgundy lip. In case you were wondering, I created the freckles using the darkest brown shade of the palette with some water and dotted it onto my cheeks. If y’all would like to see a tutorial on that, please do let me know in the comments section down below. 🙂

If this review has piqued your interest and you’re looking for more, be sure to check out 1028’s website or find them on Watsons! You can also click here to visit their Facebook page! A big thank you to 1028 Visual Therapy, as well as mamasan Tammy from The Butterfly Project for giving me this opportunity. ❤

As always, don’t forget to like my Facebook page for updates when I post and make sure you follow my Instagram as well. Thanks for reading!

*Products in this post were sent to me for review, but as always, I promise to give honest opinions and review of the products, no less.😉

Leave a Reply

