Brand Review: Orkid Cosmetics

I love the idea of trying out what brands from the local scene has to offer. There’s something pretty satisfying about trying something out and being able to compare it to other bigger brands that everyone is accustomed to. I was recently given the chance to try out Orkid Cosmetics, a Malaysian brand that specializes in matte liquid lipsticks, and honey, you KNOW I’m all about that liquid lipstick life.

Orkid Cosmetics

Orkid Cosmetics is a vegan, cruelty-free andย halal-friendly, so my fellow animal lovers and hijabista friends, you don’t have to worry about the ingredients that go into these products. I was kindly sent 6 exclusive shades from their current collection for review and swatches. Lets start, shall we?

Luv Orkid

Luv Swatch

First up is Luv, a muted pinky nude that’s on the lighter side. This glided on well, and didn’t show up streaky on the lips. A great shade for wearing on the daily or if you have a darker eye look you want to compliment.

Dime Orkid

Dime Swatch

One of my favorite shades in this collection, Dime is a rust colour with a pinkish undertone on the lighter side. This formula glides on beautifully and isn’t patchy at all. I’ve been reaching for this colour quite frequently and this adds a nice pop of colour for an everyday look.

Lava Orkid

Lava swatch

This shade is super reminiscent of hot, oozing magma. So pretty! Lava is a reddish, bold orange shade that’s gorgeous on people with warmer skintones. This would look really chic as a gradient shade if you’re into that Korean look too!

Slay Orkid

Slay swatch

Next up is Slay, a classic blue-based red that’s great for just about any skintone. It makes your teeth look whiter and brighter, and is great for days when you’re feeling a little Parisian. I don’t have many red lippies in my collection but I really like the boldness of this shade.

Chicky Baby Orkid

Chicky Baby swatch

This one, unfortunately, is the least favorite out of all 6. This warm based pink is streaky upon application, and for some reason or another dries down slower than the rest. It can be a little tricky to work with, but if you’re patient and don’t mind reapplying this once or twice to get it just right, then this will look pretty nice for a sweeter look.

Deja Vu Orkid

Deja Vu swatch

Ooh girl, you already know I’m gonna love this one! After all, I have an entire post dedicated to my previous dark lip loves (I should do an updated one soon), Deja Vu is a dark plum with purple and reddish undertones, and this will look flattering on a lot of skin tones. It glides on the best onto the lips and offers full coverage in one swipe. This is definitely my favorite shade out of all 6, and if I needed to repurchase this shade, I would.

Orkid Swatches

Collection swatches

I think Orkid Cosmetics is a good brand to try out if you’re on the hunt for more affordable liquid lipsticks. They have a good range of wearable, bold lipsticks and you’re sure to find a shade that suits you. At RM39 a pop, these lipsticks don’t break the bank and they dry down to a totally matte finish (which for me, personally is a must have for liquid lipsticks). If you’re interested in checking out these or any of their shades, you can check out their main site or their Instagram. ๐Ÿ™‚

As always, donโ€™t forget to like my Facebook page for updates when I post and make sure you follow my Instagram as well. Thanks for reading!

*Products in this post were sent or given to me for review, but as always, I promise to give honest opinions and review of the products, no less.๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Brand Review: Orkid Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

