Review: Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream

Picture2I have been on the hunt for a really good moisturizer that keeps up with my stubborn, fickle skin. My skin type is basically oily on the inside but dry on the outside. Let me explain what that really means: when I hit puberty, my skin became an oil rig. It produced so much oil, and I used to get acne because I didn’t know how to handle it properly. So while my skin naturally produces oil to keep the skin hydrated, I used to use products which dried out the skin or reduce the amount of oil produced. While this may have seemed like the solution then, after a few years, my skin became too dry on the outer layers, causing it to tighten and be slightly more sensitive than it used to be.

Looking for a moisturizer for my skin hasn’t been easy: I’ve always needed to find the perfect balance between being moisturizing but not too oily, and still suitable for my sensitive skin. I’ve spent money trying to use high end brands which promised perfection in a bottle, as well as optimistically opted for drugstore alternatives, hoping to get good results with no avail. After years of searching, I think Cetaphil may finally have the answer to my problems.

Picture4

Cetaphil’s Moisturizing Cream is formulated for dry, sensitive skin. It claims to be lanolin and paraben free, as well as fragrance free (perfect for those with both sensitive skin and noses). It is also non-comedogenic so it won’t block pores, making this great for both face and body use. Not only is this dermatologist tested, it is dermatologist recommended, which means that this has been tested and approved by people who know what they’re doing. Definitely a good tick in my books!

Upon application, the cream does feel thick, but not too rich. It leaves the skin feeling nice and hydrated without it being sticky (which I really do appreciate). Within a couple of minutes, it soaks into the skin, leaving behind soft and hydrated skin, ready for your make up routine. You don’t really need a lot of product for your skin, just enough to coat it in a thin layer, so if you end up buying the biggest tub (like me), this will easily last you quite a while.

Picture3

Oh man, what can I say about this moisturizer except that I LOVE IT! I think it has become holy grail material already. My dry, sensitive skin loves this stuff! It makes my face feel soft and supple without any of the little annoyances like having too strong a fragrance or making my skin feel gross and sticky after using it. I even use it on my body too. It works exceptionally well on sun-burnt skin, as well as keeps my dry patches like my knees and elbows nice and moisturized. I got myself the biggest tub while I was in Melbourne, because I wasn’t sure if I couldn’t get this back in KL, and the extra weight in my luggage was worth it. Oh and let me tell you about the price. It was 16.99AUD from Chemist Warehouse, which translates to a whopping RM52.35 (based on 3.08 exchange rate) for 550gm of product. That’s less than RM0.10 per gram of product! I have bought products which are 1/5 of the product amount and twice the price of this. Trust me when I tell you that I’m one happy camper when it comes to this cream.

Picture1

Have any of you guys out there used this product before? What are your thoughts on it? Do you have a holy grail skin product you can’t live without? Be sure to let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

